Like it or not, headlines matter.

Earlier this week I published a post called CRE Needs to have a Hacker Mentality.  I think it’s fair to say at this point that this is in the top 3 of the most popular pieces I’ve ever published.  The question for me is why?

Looking at how my most popular posts there is a clear trend:  each of them has a catching headline or contains popular buzzwords.

Whether I like it or not, people judge a book by its cover.  Most of my traffic comes from Twitter and LinkedIn which means that most people get the headline and maybe two sentences to decide if they want to share and/or read on.  That means I need something that stops them as they are scrolling and convinces them to click a button.

It’s a hard lesson for me as I think the content should stand on its own but then again, I have to keep up with behaviors.

One thought on “Like it or not, headlines matter.

Leave a Reply

