An interesting turning point in my personal growth.

I am 30.  I looked forward to it for a long while thinking that leaving my 20s would elevate me to a new level of confidence.  Turns out that age doesn’t have anything to do with how others perceive you.

It took me a long time to learn that lesson.  I thought for the longest time that my youth was a negative in many people’s minds – and maybe it was.  But in reality it was my focus on my own age that was the issue.  My paranoia at how others regarded me caused me to behave a certain way.  And that behavior caused the reactions in others.  Vicious cycle and all that.

But a couple of months ago I somehow let the baggage go.  I was meeting with a local brokerage team this week and realized I was talking to them all as peers where as a year before I would have been trying to prove myself.  I realized the change because they were listening to me as peers.

One thought on “An interesting turning point in my personal growth.

  1. David,
    You proved yourself very early on… and “most” have been listening to you as a “Peer” for a long time brother…..
    God Bless.

Leave a Reply

