What is longevity at a company today?

Today I hit 8 years with NGKF.  As a member of Gen Y this fact shocks many that I come across (and often myself).  They either think I’m older than I am or they don’t believe that I’ve been here as long as I have.

I’ve had many hats and imagine that I’ll wear many more which has certainly made being at one company easier to handle.  It’s also been easier due to the culture and people that are here.  Staying around is not hard when you have challenging, useful, important work that you do with talented, amazing people.

12, 18 or 25 years at the same company doesn’t concern me for some reason.  Longevity is a side effect – not a goal.  Longevity is surprisingly easy for people when their company gives them fulfilling work and a culture that gives them more than just a job to work on.  Everyone has different reasons to stay but everyone has reasons.  Rarely does anyone leave just because a clock runs out.

Here’s to the future.  Longevity is the same as it’s always been.  Loyalty is the same as it’s always been.  Both are earned by all parties with nothing simply given.  I’m thankful to have been given both and that I’ve in turn been able to give both.

Leave a Reply

