Who do I want to be?

I’m facing the ambiguously referred to confusing time at work and it marries up nicely to the confusion of CRE and the directions one can take.  The paths are many but all connected.  Yet none of them need precisely the same skills or lead to the same future outcomes.

“Who do I want to be?” is a question that all of us ask ourselves at some point.  Do I want to focus on the statistics and trends?  Do I want to design and build systems and tools that make things more efficient?  Do I want to focus on sales and winning new business?  Do I want to be a thought leader and spend my time writing and developing new ideas?  Do I simply want to take time and get back to doing the work that got me to where I am – be comfortable?

No one comes up with the same answers and the answer may change regularly and often.  Sometimes the answer is influenced by the people around you that you want to work with.  Sometimes the answer is based on a desire to get away from the people you’ve been working with recently.  Sometimes it is because you don’t have the option of staying where you are.

The important part is not in the answer, it is in the process of asking the question and evaluating the options.  No answer will be perfect.  No single outcome will last forever.  But moving forward in knowledge is power.

Leave a Reply

