Do you really need those special initials after your signature?

In my field there are a lot of designations that people can achieve that they then proudly display after their name:  MBA, SIOR, MCR, CRE, PMO to name a few.  I always find it interesting to ask people for their motivations.  Sometimes it’s selfish: to make themselves look better to clients or bosses.  Sometimes it’s ego: to make themselves look better than others.  Sometimes it’s simply because: I took a class and thought it was cool.  I also know quite a few people who received the designations and never advertise the fact: they simply got it for the love of knowledge.

All those letters prove is that you paid for a class and attended while paying attention.  They don’t mean you are smarter or a harder worker.  They don’t mean that you are better at solving problems.  It does mean that you have memorized quite a few facts and case studies that will exist in your head for at least the next 2 years.

Maybe I’m missing the fact that lots of buyers love to hire people that look really good on paper but then again I’d rather not get hired just because I look good on paper (although I think I look great on paper).  Maybe I’m missing the fact that lots of people in the world love designations because it makes them feel better.  I’m definitely missing something.

But I’m happier missing that something.  So that counts I suppose.

One thought on “Do you really need those special initials after your signature?

Leave a Reply

